For people choosing where to live in their first year: a share house or a private apartment? UR housing or a bilingual agency? Rather than specific landlords, we compare the seven usual routes on what matters to a newcomer — upfront cost, guarantor rules, minimum term, furniture and whether the contract comes in English.
Last verified 12 October 2026 against the providers' official pages.
Filter
Showing 7 of 7
Private rental through a Japanese agent
ENJATR
from ¥95,000/mo
Typical private studio (1K) in Tokyo per our cost model; cheaper further from the centre and in other cities.
Best for: People staying 2+ years who want the widest choice and the lowest monthly rent — and can handle a Japanese contract, a guarantor company and 4–6 months of rent up front.
Typical upfront
4–6 months' rentDeposit 0–2 + key money 0–2 + agent fee up to 1.1 + first month + guarantor company 0.5–1, plus fire insurance (¥15,000–20,000) and lock change (¥15,000–30,000).
Guarantor
Guarantor or guarantor company
Minimum term
24 monthsStandard 2-year contract; leaving early is usually allowed with 1–2 months' notice.
Furnished
No
Utilities included
No
English contract
No
Book from abroad
No
What you need to apply
Residence card (在留カード)
Proof of income or savings
Emergency contact in Japan
Guarantor, or a guarantor-company fee
Japanese mobile number
Support languages: Contracts are in Japanese (a translation is not the binding text); MLIT publishes a free 'Guide to Looking for a Home' in 14 languages and lists agencies with foreign-language staff.
Watch out for
• The agent's fee is legally capped at 0.55 months' rent from the tenant unless you agree to more — most ask for 1.1 months, which is only valid with your consent.
• Expect a 2-year contract with a renewal fee of about one month's rent, restoration charges at move-out, and utilities you set up yourself.
• Some landlords still screen out foreign applicants despite MLIT guidance; a bilingual agency or UR avoids that fight.
Foreigner-friendly agencies and landlords
ENJATR
from ¥20,000/mo
Village House advertises rents from ¥20,000 (mostly outside city centres); bilingual-agency listings in Tokyo start around normal studio rents.
Best for: People who want a normal apartment without the screening lottery: bilingual agencies (GaijinPot Housing Service, Best-Estate and others) handle the guarantor company for you, and landlords like Village House drop deposit, key money and agent fees.
Typical upfront
1–4 months' rentVillage House: first month's rent (deposit only if the credit check asks for it); bilingual agencies: usually the standard 4–6 months minus whatever the landlord waives.
Guarantor
Guarantor company (fee)
Minimum term
12 monthsVillage House publishes no minimum; bilingual agencies mostly broker 1–2-year leases.
Furnished
Varies
Utilities included
No
English contract
Varies
Book from abroad
Yes
What you need to apply
Residence card (在留カード)
Proof of income or savings
Emergency contact in Japan
Japanese mobile number
Email address
Support languages: English-speaking staff and English summaries are the point; the binding contract is usually still Japanese. Village House's site runs in 7 languages.
Watch out for
• Village House: 'no deposit, renewal, handling or key money' — but a deposit may still be asked after the credit check, units are mostly older suburban blocks, and the inquiry form wants a Japanese phone number.
• Bilingual agencies broker standard leases, so the standard fees (agent, guarantor company, insurance) usually still apply — ask for the full move-in quote first.
• GaijinPot's own pages blocked automated checks on the verification date, so its terms are not quoted here.
Share house
ENJATR
from ¥45,000/mo
Shared rooms from about ¥45,000; private rooms around ¥65,000 in Tokyo per our cost model, plus utilities.
Best for: First-year arrivals who want to move in within days with a furnished room, no guarantor and a one-month minimum — and meet people while they find their feet.
Typical upfront
1–2 months' rentContract fee or small deposit (¥20,000–50,000) plus the first month; no key money, no agent fee.
Guarantor
Not needed
Minimum term
1 monthUsually one month (Sakura House sometimes 2–3 weeks); 30 days' notice to leave.
Furnished
Yes
Utilities included
Varies
English contract
Varies
Book from abroad
Yes
What you need to apply
Passport
Emergency contact (family abroad is usually fine)
Email address
Support languages: Oakhouse's help desk answers in Japanese, English, Korean, Chinese and French; Sakura House and Borderless House work in English. Contract language varies by operator.
Watch out for
• House rules (quiet hours, guests, shared kitchens) and age limits (18–35 or 39 at some operators) apply; most want 30 days' notice to leave.
• Upfront costs vary: Oakhouse ¥30,000 contract fee with no deposit or key money; Borderless ¥30,000 key money + ¥20,000 deposit; utilities are often a flat ¥8,000–15,000 on top of rent.
• Central Tokyo private rooms run well above the floor price; Sakura House's price list could not be fetched on the verification date.
UR housing (UR賃貸住宅)
ENJATR
from ¥60,000/mo
Indicative: many Tokyo-area 1K/1DK units start around ¥60,000, usually outside the centre — check the estate listings.
Best for: Families and anyone with a steady income who wants a public-agency landlord: no key money, no agent fee, no renewal fee, no guarantor, and no nationality screening — just an income or savings test.
Typical upfront
2 months' rentDeposit of 2 months' rent plus the prorated first month — nothing else (UR's 'four no's').
Guarantor
Not needed
Minimum term
No minimumNo minimum; the standard contract renews automatically with no renewal fee.
Furnished
No
Utilities included
No
English contract
No
Book from abroad
No
What you need to apply
Residence card (在留カード)
Certificate of residence (住民票) from the ward office
Proof of income or savings
Personal seal (hanko) — or a signature where accepted
Support languages: English leaflet, but the application and contract are in Japanese and UR asks people who need language support to bring a Japanese-speaking companion.
Watch out for
• Income standard (2026): monthly income of 4× the rent for rents under ¥62,500 (fixed ¥250,000 above that, single applicant), or savings of 100× the monthly rent, or prepaying a year's rent.
• Apply in person at a UR shop with a residence card, certificate of residence and income papers; the contract must be signed within days of the application and popular estates have waiting lists.
• Units are unfurnished and often older; a seal is expected (foreign residents without one get a signature certificate from their consulate).
Furnished apartment chains (Leopalace21-style)
ENJATR
from ¥70,000/mo
Indicative: Leopalace21 publishes no Tokyo floor price; expect roughly ¥60,000–100,000 for a furnished 1K — check the listings.
Best for: People who want their own furnished studio from day one, booked online in English, with a 30-day 'Monthly' option and no brokerage fee.
Typical upfront
1–2 months' rentNo brokerage fee; Monthly plan paid in advance; long-term plans often waive key money in campaigns.
Guarantor
Guarantor company (fee)
Minimum term
1 monthMonthly plan from 30 days (in 1-day units); long-term plan one year or more.
Furnished
Yes
Utilities included
Varies
English contract
Varies
Book from abroad
Yes
What you need to apply
Residence card (在留カード)
Email address
Japanese mobile number
Support languages: Leopalace21's site runs in Japanese, English, Chinese, Korean and Vietnamese; the language of the contract itself is not stated.
Watch out for
• The Monthly plan (30 days to a year) is prepaid in a lump sum with utilities included; the long-term plan runs a year or more with utilities billed by use.
• Guarantor policy and standard deposit/key money are not stated on the English site (campaigns waive key money) — get the full quote before booking.
• Older buildings in this segment have a reputation for thin walls; rents run above a comparable bare rental.
Student dormitory
ENJATR
from ¥35,000/mo
JASSO TIEC single room ¥35,000 (2026); university dorms roughly ¥20,000–60,000; private halls with two meals about ¥65,000–100,000.
Best for: Enrolled students on a budget: the cheapest furnished option, arranged through the school before you land, with the school standing in for a guarantor.
Typical upfront
1–2 months' rentJASSO TIEC: a non-refundable entrance fee of one month's rent; private halls ¥130,000–160,000 depending on contract length.
Guarantor
School usually acts as guarantor
Minimum term
12 monthsUsually by academic year; JASSO TIEC's minimum is 30 days.
Furnished
Yes
Utilities included
Varies
English contract
Varies
Book from abroad
Yes
What you need to apply
Enrolment at a school or university
Passport
Email address
Support languages: University international offices handle applications in English; private student halls (e.g. Dormy) run in Japanese.
Watch out for
• Places are limited and often allocated by lottery or recommendation; you apply through your school, not directly (JASSO's TIEC does not accept direct applications).
• Curfews, guest rules and fixed terms by academic year are common; private halls add an entrance fee (¥130,000–160,000 at Dormy) and bill electricity separately.
• JASSO TIEC fees rise from ¥35,000 to ¥48,000 (Hall A) on 1 March 2027 and again in 2031.
Monthly mansion / serviced apartment
ENJATR
from ¥114,000/mo
About 1.2× our Tokyo studio rent; weekly plans and central locations cost more.
Best for: A landing pad for the first 1–3 months: furnished, utilities arranged, no deposit or key money, bookable before you arrive — while you hunt for a long-term place.
Typical upfront
1 months' rentNo deposit or key money; the first month plus cleaning/key fees is paid in advance.
Guarantor
Not needed
Minimum term
1 monthMonthly contracts from 30 days; some operators offer weekly plans from 7 days.
Furnished
Yes
Utilities included
Varies
English contract
Varies
Book from abroad
Yes
What you need to apply
Passport
A payment method (see "Pay with")
Email address
Support languages: Weekly & Monthly's reception line works in English, Chinese and Korean; many operators are Japanese-only.
Watch out for
• Rent is typically 1.2–1.5× a comparable normal rental, and operators add cleaning, key-exchange or management fees of a few thousand to tens of thousands of yen.
• A guarantor is usually not needed but some operators make exceptions; some also want a Japanese address or phone for the booking.
• Not a registered address for everyone — check whether the operator allows resident registration (住民登録) before relying on it for the ward office.
What to bring
Everything at least one of the options shown asks for — gather these and any of them can go ahead.
Passport3 of 7
Residence card (在留カード)4 of 7
Certificate of residence (住民票) from the ward office1 of 7
Japanese mobile number3 of 7
Email address5 of 7
A payment method (see "Pay with")1 of 7
Proof of income or savings3 of 7
Enrolment at a school or university1 of 7
Emergency contact (family abroad is usually fine)1 of 7
Emergency contact in Japan2 of 7
Guarantor, or a guarantor-company fee1 of 7
Personal seal (hanko) — or a signature where accepted1 of 7
How we checked this
We have no commercial relationship with these providers; links are not affiliate links. Prices are tax-included yen as published on the providers' pages on the verification date and can change at any time — check the official page before you sign up.
Sources and verification dates
Private rental through a Japanese agent— verified 12 October 2026